Why is Google deleting Gmail accounts? As per reports, the deletion process will begin with accounts that were created and never used, Google said in May.
Do Inactive Gmail Accounts Get Deleted?
When did you last sign in to your Google Account or Gmail inbox? If you don’t remember, your account may be deleted for inactivity starting December 1, according to Google.
Are inactive Google accounts deleted? The tech giant says accounts that have not been used long are more likely to be compromised or compromised. To combat the risk, Google says it can delete accounts that haven’t been used for at least two years. This includes users’ Gmail, Google Drive, YouTube, and Google Photo accounts.
Why Is Google Deleting Gmail Accounts: How To Prevent Them From Deleting Your Email And Data?
There are seven simple alternatives to prevent information from being deleted from an inactive Google email. When you delete your Gmail account, Google deletes data from Drive, YouTube, and other associated services. Are inactive Google accounts deleted?
Google reported that starting December 1, it will delete inactive Gmail accounts. This will take information from services such as Drive, YouTube, and other applications associated with the account, but which accounts are at risk? Google’s inactive account policy states that the company “reserves the right to delete data from a product if you do not use it” for a certain period of time. However, a series of modifications are enough to prevent your account from being deleted in the first week of December.
Which Gmail Accounts Will Google Delete In December?
According to its policies, Google will delete accounts that have been inactive for two years, that is, that have not been used between December 1, 2021, or before and December 1 of this year. The corporation said that it will notify account holders who have not used them of the risk of having them deleted through two means:
How To Prevent Your Gmail Account From Being Deleted Due To Inactivity?
Google reported that it will not delete accounts that perform any of these actions before December 1:
- Read or send an email.
- Use Google Drive.
- Watch a YouTube video.
- Share a photo.
- Download an app.
- Use Google Search.
- Use the Sign in with Google feature to access a third-party app or service.
Any of these activities can be carried out from the device you want, be it your cell phone, computer, tablet, or any product that loads any Gmail function or other Google product. That will be enough to prevent them from deleting your account. In addition, the company recommended recurrently opening the accounts you have associated to prevent them from being deleted in the future.
Although they seem like simple steps, there are users who, for some reason, cannot reopen their accounts; either they forgot the password or they need to remember the email. Given this, Google offers opportunities to recover them and not lose all the information you had available:
If you forgot your password:
- Enter the Google account recovery portal.
- Answer the necessary questions to confirm that you are the email owner.
- Reset the password based on the Gmail conditions.
If you forgot your username:
- Enter the portal to find usernames and provide the required information; it may be a phone number or recovery email.
- Follow the instructions to verify your account.
- Finally, Google will offer you a list of usernames that match your budget, where you will select the one that corresponds to you, and after the final steps, you can recover your account.
According to Google, inactive accounts are less likely to have two-step verification set up and may use old or reused passwords.
- The corporation says this change to its inactivity policy will not apply to school or business accounts, only those with personal funds.
- The deletion process will begin with created and never-used accounts, Google says.
- Users will receive several notifications to their Gmail account and recovery email address before their account is deleted.
Are Inactive Google Accounts Deleted? How To Keep Your Google Account Active
The easiest way to keep a Google account active is to sign in at least once every two years. If you have recently signed in to your Google account or any of our services, your account is considered active and will not be deleted.
If you checked your email, watched a YouTube video, or downloaded an app from the Google Play Store, your account is not at risk of being deleted.
Why is Google deleting Gmail Accounts?
Google has firmly implemented the policy of deleting inactive accounts to free up usernames and email addresses that are no longer in use. Google has the right to delete any inactive account if it remains deskbound for more than nine months. However, warnings and notifications will be provided to make sure we can restore our Gmail account. This ease is to allow users to keep their accounts active. So, users must stay active and log in to their accounts regularly to avoid any account deletion.